Four Franklin County students were presented with scholarships towards their health-related degree programs as part of the Northwestern Medical Center Health Professions Scholarship Program Benefit Dinner where entertainer Rusty DeWees was the guest speaker. The 2019 recipients of the scholarships were Cailey Comiskey and Peyton Curtis of MVU, Emma Sanders of BFA St. Albans, and Hanna Hurtubise of Richford Jr/Sr High School. Both Peyton and Hanna plan to study nursing, Cailey is aiming to be a Pharmacist and Emma will study dental hygiene.

Words of wisdom from DeWees encouraged the students to be open to the many career paths their life will present to them and to remain true to their passions.

The Martin H. Wennar Health Professions Scholarships are presented to graduating high school seniors entering collegiate studies in a healthcare field. Scholarships are awarded based on academic merit and community service.

Motivating and supporting students to pursue careers in healthcare fields is a vital part of giving back to our community. Who knows where these young women will end up in their careers but we can only hope that they will find themselves back in Franklin County, sharing their knowledge and experiences.